Homecoming (The 100 Book #3) Review

Homecoming (The 100 #3)

By Kass Morgan

Rating: 3.5/5 (4/5 on Goodreads)

285A1472

I didn’t even know that this book was out when I picked it up. I was just in a store (not even a book store) and saw it sitting there, then I jumped a little and bought it right away. I was still in my book slump, and a book like this is the perfect solution. It was also a “convenient coincidence” that it was the season 2 finale that week, so I was in a very excited mood about this whole series. (I put the coincidence part in quotes because I’m assuming that the release of the book was timed that way). Just a warning that there may be some spoilers for the first two books in this review. Also maybe the TV show. I just thought I would say that now so it comes as no surprise.

This is the Goodreads synopsis: Weeks after landing on Earth, the Hundred have managed to create a sense of order amidst their wild, chaotic surroundings. But their delicate balance comes crashing down with the arrival of new dropships from space.

These new arrivals are the lucky ones – back on the Colony, the oxygen is almost gone – but after making it safely to Earth, GLASS’s luck seems to be running out. CLARKE leads a rescue party to the crash site, ready to treat the wounded, but she can’t stop thinking about her parents who may still be alive. Meanwhile, WELLS struggles to maintain his authority despite the presence of the Vice Chancellor and his armed guards, and BELLAMY must decide whether to face or flee the crimes he thought he’d left behind.

It’s time for the Hundred to come together and fight for the freedom they’ve found on Earth, or risk losing everything – and everyone – they love.

I pretty much felt the same way about this book as I did the other three. It was fun, easy to read, and all around enjoyable. It’s not like it has fantastic, mind-blowing writing or anything, but the fact that I managed to read it in my horrible reading slump means it’s got something going for it.

After reading this book, and finishing the second season of the TV show, I think I can say that I sort of understand which direction each of the series are going. The book deals with the same sort of situations as the TV show (seeing as it is where the idea for the TV show came from), but it seems to deal with them a lot more light-heartedly. The problems that occur aren’t all consuming and the characters still have time to worry about relationships and what other people are thinking of them. In the show, it’s all about the struggles the teens are going through, focusing on Clarke. It’s about guilt, and war, and a bit of love. There are plenty of romantic relationships, but Clarke, and many of the other leaders are never distracted by them. The love for other characters motivates some, but not all, of the characters. Clarke is more motivated by guilt and the pressure she puts on herself to save “her people.” I guess it’s easiest to put it this way: Clarke in the book acts like a teenager first, leader second; Clarke in the TV series acts like a leader first, teenager second.

To be honest I thought that this was going to be the last book in the series. I’m so used to trilogies its sort of what I expect. The book ended in a way that could be the end of the series, but not everything is tied up in a neat little bow, so I’m thinking that there is more to come. I have a feeling it’s one of those “as long as the books keep selling, we’ll keep publishing” deals and as long as Bellamy and Clarke aren’t together in the TV show, I’m sure the books will keep selling just so fans can get their “Bellarke” fix.

I think this series would be the perfect thing to read if you are looking for something to read in the summer that’s just simple and quick, and more than just cute romance. I think I read this one in less than two days.

Jeez. It’s hard getting back into the swing of writing reviews.

Leave a comment